model overview
Antioch College
Education as the foundation of democracy
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#education
Founding year:
Jahr der Gr├╝ndung:
1850
Time period:
time period:
Since 1850 with temporary closures in 1863, 1881, 1919 and 2008, last active since 2011
Place:
Ort:
Yellow Springs
Region:
Region:
Northern America
Country:
Land:
United States of America
Location:
Location:
College building
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Students
Teachers
Description
Description
Coeducational according to the charter of the church group Christian Connection, Antioch College was established amidst the cornfields and forests of Ohio. Education should be concerned with advancement for the betterment of society. Thus, it is the first coeducational college in the USA that offered equal educational opportunities to men and women. Students were not to be discriminated against in terms of race, gender, religion or social background. In the studies themselves, the college redefined liberal arts education. Understanding of theory, engagement in practice and action had equal value. The curriculum combined entrepreneurial aspects with theoretical educational content, creating experiential learning and teaching. At the same time, forms of liberal arts education formed early at Antioch College that are still common today. Among them: self-designed courses of study, study abroad, interdisciplinary studies, portfolio evaluation.
Goals
Goals
Education as the foundation of democracy and for the general betterment of society.
Equal importance of theory, commitment / practice and action.
Motto: ┬╗Be ashamed to die until you have won some victory for humanity.┬ź
Outcomes
Outcomes
In the 1960s, ┬╗satellite schools┬ź were founded. In 1978, this became Antioch University. Due to financial problems, there were several closures. In 2008, former trustees of the university, donors and alumni founded the Antioch College Continuation Corporation. The goal was to reopen. After the fourth closure, the university sold 25 buildings and 1,000 hectares of land to the Continuation Corporation for 6.2 million USD. Teaching reopened in autumn 2011. The college is part of the Great Lakes Colleges Association, a federation of 13 liberal arts colleges. Two Nobel Prize winners received degrees at Antioch College (Jos├ę Ramos-Horta (1996) and Mario Capecchi (2007)). Antioch College is the nucleus for Antioch University, but broke away from it in 2008. Antioch College was the first institution to appoint a woman to its faculty and board of trustees. It was also among the first to commit to community self-governance and authentic student participation in institutional decision-making.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Christian Connection. First President: Horace Mann
Responsible
Responsible
Further information
Further Information
Images
Bilder
01_Antioch Hall_ca 1853_Antiochiana

Antioch Hall, designed 1852, the earliest known photograph of Antioch College campus, Photo: Antiochiana Collection of Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio

Rueckansicht Antioch Hall, Antioch College

Rear view of Antioch Hall, 2010. Photo: Nyttend. Source: Wikipedia

Logo 2 _ Siegel

Logo Antioch College. Source: Wikipedia

LocGov

Antioch College, Main Hall, Livermore Street & North College Avenue, Yellow Springs, Greene County, OH, vor 1933. Photo: Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Division, Historic American Buildings Survey, HABS OHIO,29-YEL,1A-, Source: Library of Congress: www.loc.gov/item/oh0048/

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Modell Übersicht
Antioch College
Bildung als Fundament der Demokratie
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#bildung
Time period:
Zeitraum:
seit 1850 mit zeitweisen Schließungen 1863, 1881, 1919 und 2008, zuletzt seit 2011 aktiv
Place:
Ort:
Yellow Springs
Regions:
Region:
Nordamerika
Country:
Land:
United States of America
Location:
Location:
Collegegebäude
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Studierende
Lehrende
Description
Beschreibung
Koedukativ gemäß der Charta der Kirchengruppe Christian Connection entstand Antioch College inmitten der Getreidefelder und Wälder Ohios. Bildung sollte sich mit der Förderung zur Verbesserung der Gesellschaft beschäftigen. So ist es das erste koedukative College der USA, das Männern und Frauen die gleichen Bildungschancen bot. Studierende sollten in Bezug auf Rasse, Geschlecht, Religion oder sozialer Herkunft keinerlei Diskriminierung erfahren. Im Studium selbst definierte das College die freie Kunsterziehung neu. Verständnis von Theorie, Engagement in der Praxis und Handeln hatten den gleichen Stellenwert. Der Lehrplan verband unternehmerische Aspekte mit theoretischen Bildungsinhalten und schaffte so ein erfahrungsorientiertes Lernen und Lehren. Gleichzeitig bildeten sich am Antioch College früh Formen der liberalen Kunsterziehung, die noch heute üblich sind. Darunter: selbst entworfene Studiengänge, Auslandsstudien, interdisziplinäre Studien, Portfolio-Evaluierung.
Goals
Ziele
Bildung als Fundament der Demokratie und zur allgemeinen Verbesserung der Gesellschaft.
Gleichwertige Bedeutung von Theorie, Engagement / Praxis und Handeln.
Motto: »Be ashamed to die until you have won some victory for humanity.«
Beneficial Outcomes
Ergebnisse
In den 1960er Jahren wurden »Satellitenschulen« gegründet. 1978 entstand hieraus die Antioch University. Auf Grund finanzieller Probleme kam es mehrfach zu Schließungen. 2008 gründeten ehemalige Treuhänder:innen der Universität, Spender:innen und Alumni die Antioch College Continuation Corporation. Ziel war die Wiedereröffnung. Nach der vierten Schließung verkaufte die Universität 25 Gebäude sowie 1000 Hektar Land für 6,2 Millionen USD an die Continuation Corporation. Die Wiedereröffnung des Lehrbetriebs erfolgte im Herbst 2011. Das College ist Teil der Great Lakes Colleges Association, einem Zusammenschluss von 13 Liberal Arts Colleges. Zwei Nobelpreisträger erhielten am Antioch College Abschlüsse (José Ramos-Horta (1996) und Mario Capecchi (2007)). Das Antioch College ist die Keimzelle für die Antioch University, löste sich jedoch 2008 von ihr. Antioch College rief als erste Einrichtung eine Frau in seine Fakultät und in seinen Stiftungsrat. Zudem gehörte es zu den ersten, die sich zur kommunalen Selbstverwaltung und zur authentischen Beteiligung der Studierenden an der institutionellen Entscheidungsfindung verpflichteten.
Initiators
Initiator:innen
Christian Connection. Erster Präsident: Horace Mann
Responsible
Verantwortliche
Präsident: Thomas Manley
Further informations
Weitere Informationen

__College: https://antiochcollege.edu

__Kerrie Naylor, Antioch: Vision and Revision, in: Maverick Colleges. Fourteen Notable Experiments in American Undergraduate education, ed. by L. Jackson Newell, Katherine C. Reynolds, L. Scott Marsh, Salt Lake City, Utah, 1996, Seite 1-11: https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/experimental-study-group/es-291-learning-seminar-experiments-in-education-spring-2003/readings/MITES_291S03_antioch.pdf

Images
Bilder
Antioch Hall_Smithsonian
Rueckansicht Antioch Hall, Antioch College
Rückansicht von Antioch Hall, 2010, Foto: Nyttend. Quelle: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antioch_College#/media/Datei:Antioch_Hall,_Antioch_College.jpg
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320