model overview
Rosenwald Schools
Schools for African American Students in the USA
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#education
Founding year:
Jahr der Gr├╝ndung:
1913
Time period:
time period:
1913-1932/1954
Place:
Ort:
Southern States of the US
Region:
Region:
Northern America
Country:
Land:
United States of America
Location:
Location:
School house
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Children
Description
Description
The US entrepreneur Julius Rosenwald (1862-1932), son of Jewish immigrants, met the educator, social reformer and civil rights activist Booker T. Washington in 1911. The contact developed into a collaboration for a plan to build schoolhouses for African American children in small towns in the South where they were previously lacking. Initially, six small schools were built in rural Alabama, opening in 1913 and 1914. In 1917, the Julius Rosenwald Foundation was established to support the "welfare of mankind". Rosenwald supported the work of Booker T. Washington at the Tuskegee Institute and funded the creation of thousands of schools for rural African Americans in the southern states. Rosenwald received the most attention for the more than 5,000 Rosenwald Schools and the 4,000 libraries that were included in these schools. The network of new public schools subsequently employed more than 14,000 teachers.
Goals
Goals
Schools for African American students in the southern states
Outcomes
Outcomes
From 1932 onwards, no further buildings followed due to a lack of subsidies, and the last school was built in 1937. In 1948, the Julius Rosenwald Fund was terminated. In 1954, racial segregation in education was declared unconstitutional - the Rosenwald schools lapsed, many fell into disrepair or were destroyed. In 2002, the National Trust for Historic Preservation listed the Rosenwald Schools as ┬╗endangered places┬ź and in 2015, the National Trust classified the Rosenwald Schools as national treasures. Since then, many surviving buildings have been preserved by the National Trust and activists and used as schools, community centres, museums and more.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Julius Rosenwald and Booker T. Washington
Responsible
Responsible
Further information
Further Information
02_New_Hope_Rosenwald_School_Fredonia_Alabama_wiki

New Hope Rosenwald School near Fredonia in Chambers County, Alabama, built 1915, condition 2011. Poto: SaveRivers, 2011, Licence CC BY-SA 3.0, Source: Wikipedia

03_Oak_Grove_Rosenwald_School_wiki

Oak Grove Rosenwald School, Arkansas, built 1926, condition 2016. Photo: Valis55, 2016, Licence: CC BY-SA 3.0. Source: Wikipedia

04_San_Domingo_School_MD1_wiki

The former San Domingo Rosenwald School near Sharptown, Maryland, built in 1919, now used for community gatherings after renovation in 2014. Photo: Acroterion, 2020, Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Source: Wikipedia

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Modell Übersicht
Rosenwald Schulen
Schulen fĂŒr afroamerikanische SchĂŒler*innen in den USA
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#bildung
Founding year:
Jahr der GrĂŒndung:
1913
Time period:
Zeitraum:
1913-1932/1954
Place:
Ort:
SĂŒdstaaten der USA
Regions:
Region:
Nordamerika
Country:
Land:
United States of America
Location:
Location:
SchulgebÀude
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Kinder
Description
Beschreibung
Der US-amerikanische Unternehmer Julius Rosenwald (1862-1932), Sohn jĂŒdischer Einwanderer traf 1911 den PĂ€dagogen, Sozialreformer und BĂŒrgerrechtler Booker T. Washington. Aus dem Kontakt entwickelte sich eine Zusammenarbeit fĂŒr einen Plan, der vorsah, SchulhĂ€user fĂŒr afroamerikanische Kinder in kleinen Orten des SĂŒdens zu errichten, wo diese zuvor fehlten. Zu Beginn wurden sechs kleinere Schulen im lĂ€ndlichen Alabama gebaut, die 1913 und 1914 eröffnet wurden. Im Jahr 1917 entstand die Julius-Rosenwald-Stiftung zur UnterstĂŒtzung des »Wohlergehens der Menschheit«. Rosenwald unterstĂŒtzte die Arbeit von Booker T. Washington am Tuskegee Institute und finanzierte die Schaffung tausender Schulen fĂŒr auf dem Land lebende Afroamerikaner*innen in den SĂŒdstaaten. Die grĂ¶ĂŸte Aufmerksamkeit erhielt Rosenwald fĂŒr die mehr als 5000 Rosenwald Schulen und die 4000 Bibliotheken, die in diese Schulen aufgenommen wurden. Das Netz der neuen öffentlichen Schulen beschĂ€ftigte anschließend mehr als 14.000 Lehrer.
Goals
Ziele
Schulen fĂŒr afroamerikanische Kinder und Jugendliche in den SĂŒdsaaten
Beneficial Outcomes
Ergebnisse
Ab 1932 folgten aufgrund fehlender ZuschĂŒsse keine weiteren Bauten, 1937 die letzte Schule errichtet. 1948 wurde der Julius Rosenwald Fund beendet. 1954 wurde die Rassentrennung in der Bildung fĂŒr verfassungswidrig erklĂ€rt – die Rosenwald-Schulen wurden hinfĂ€llig, viele verfielen oder wurden zerstört. 2002 listete der National Trust for Historic Preservation die Rosenwald Schulen als »gefĂ€hrdete Orte« und 2015 stufte der National Trust die Rosenwald-Schulen als nationale SchĂ€tze ein. Inzwischen werden viele erhaltene GebĂ€ude durch den National Trust und Aktivist*innen bewahrt und als Schulen, Gemeindezentren, Museen oder anderes genutzt.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Julius Rosenwald und Booker T. Washington
Responsible
Verantwortliche
Further informations
Weitere Informationen
02_New_Hope_Rosenwald_School_Fredonia_Alabama_wiki

New Hope Rosenwald School nahe Fredonia in Chambers County, Alabama, erbaut 1915, Zustand 2011. Gelistet im U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 2001. Foto: SaveRivers, 2011, Lizenz CC BY-SA 3.0, Quelle: Wikipedia

03_Oak_Grove_Rosenwald_School_wiki

Oak Grove Rosenwald School, Arkansas, erbaut 1926, Zustand 2016. Foto: Valis55, 2016, Lizenz: CC BY-SA 3.0. Quelle: Wikipedia

04_San_Domingo_School_MD1_wiki

Die ehemalige San Domingo Rosenwald School nahe Sharptown, Maryland, erbaut 1919, nach Renovierung 2014 heute fĂŒr Gemeindeveranstaltungen genutzt. Foto: Acroterion, 2020, Lizenz: CC BY-SA 4.0. Quelle: Wikipedia

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320