Von: 11. Jun, 2021 18:00
Bis: 11. Jun, 2021
Gustaf-Gründgens-Platz
Die Nachahmung des Lebens. Demokratie nach Beuys

# political system

Lecture

In his lecture, Christoph Menke examined the title concept of the event series - »Plastic Democracy« and questioned Joseph Beuys’ manifestos and theses on the potential of the social to change the political.

In the spirit of the »Sculptural Democracy« project, Christoph Menke took a double look at Joseph Beuys and our political present or future. He brought Beuys’ reflections in manifestos and conversations to the point and questioned it. Beuys – it should be shown – is not concerned with democracy, as a noun, as a separate object, but with democracy as a politics of transformation of the social. Democracy is sculptural not as a transformation of government, but as a transformation of the (and the) governed, the social (and the subjects: a transformation of us).
But that is the problem: How is such a change conceivable and possible? Is a politics at all conceivable and possible that changes the social? What kind of event is the change of the social, and is this a political act? These are questions that Beuys asked and tried to answer. Examining the title term of the overall project – »Sculptural Democracy« – can help to understand these questions and answers.

Chroistoph Menke, Foto: Screenshot

Christoph Menkes at the lecture on Gustav-Gründgens-Platz, Photo: Screenshot video recording

Christoph Menke's lecture on Gustav-Gründgens-Platz in Düsseldorf during the kick-off of »Sculptural Democracy«, video commissioned by the Institute for Art History at the HHU, project »beuys2021« - editing: project office »beuys2021« and raumlaborberlin.

Links:

Christop Menke an der Uni Frankfurt – Wikipedia – Christoph Menke bei Suhrkamp

Members
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Von: 11. Jun, 2021 18:00
Bis: 11. Jun, 2021
Gustaf-Gründgens-Platz
Die Nachahmung des Lebens. Demokratie nach Beuys

# politisches system

Vortrag

Christoph Menke untersuchte in seinem Vortrag den Titelbegriff der Veranstaltungsreihe – »Plastische Demokratie« und befragte Joseph Beuys Manifeste und Thesen auf das Potential des Sozialen hin, das Politische zu verändern.

Christoph Menke warf im Sinne des Projekts »Plastische Demokratie« den Doppelblick auf Joseph Beuys und unsere politische Gegenwart oder Zukunft. Er brachte Beuys Überlegungen in Manifesten und Gesprächen auf den Punkt und hinterfragte diesen. Beuys – so sollte gezeigt werden – geht es nicht um die Demokratie, als Substantiv, als eigener Gegenstand, sondern um die Demokratie als eine Politik der Transformation des Sozialen. Die Demokratie ist plastisch nicht als eine Veränderung der Regierung, sondern als Veränderung des (und der) Regierten, des Sozialen (und der Subjekte: eine Veränderung von uns).
Aber das ist das Problem: Wie ist eine solche Veränderung denkbar und möglich? Ist überhaupt eine Politik denkbar und möglich, die das Soziale verändert? Was für ein Geschehen ist die Veränderung des Sozialen, und ist dies ein politischer Akt? Das sind Fragen, die Beuys gestellt und zu beantworten versucht hat. Die Untersuchung des Titelbegriffs der Veranstaltungsreihe – »plastische Demokratie« – kann helfen, diese Fragen und Antworten zu verstehen.

Chroistoph Menke, Foto: Screenshot

Christoph Menkes beim Vortrag auf dem Gustav-Gründgens-Platz, Foto: Screenshot Videoaufnahme

Christoph Menkes Vortrag auf dem Gustav-Gründgens-Platz in Düsseldorf während des Auftakts der »Plastischen Demokratie«, Video im Auftrag des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der HHU, Projekt »beuys2021« – Redaktion: Projektbüro »beuys2021« und raumlaborberlin.

Links:

Christop Menke an der Uni FrankfurtWikipediaChristoph Menke bei Suhrkamp

Teilnehmer*innen:
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320