model overview
Brahmacharyasrama / Patha-Bhavana
REFORM SCHOOL WITH AN ECOLOGICAL AND ANTI-COLONIALIST FOCUS
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#education
Founding year:
Jahr der Gr├╝ndung:
1901
Time period:
time period:
since 1901
Place:
Ort:
Santiniketan, West Bengal
Region:
Region:
Southern Asia
Country:
Land:
India
Location:
Location:
School building / outdoor
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Children
Description
Description
The connection between man and nature is central within Rabindranath Tagore's ecological pedagogy, creating space for an ancient, Indian form of education that contrasts with the otherwise predominant education of the colonial power. At its foundation in 1901, the school bears the title Brahmacharyasrama, after 1925 Patha-Bhavana, today Visva-Bharati University. Visva-Bharati loosely translates as ┬╗India connected to the world┬ź. In classrooms and outdoors, students learn in areas such as art, dance and music, different languages and gain knowledge in areas such as gardening and soil science. There are weekly literary and musical evenings where students showcase their artistic skills to each other and the community. School affairs are decided by various committees, including an environment committee, a health committee and a food committee.
Goals
Goals
A new form of ecological education that focuses on the connection between people and nature. To create an alternative to the education system dominated by the colonial power and to reclaim an ancient Indian form of education.
Outcomes
Outcomes
Creation of an alternative to the education system dominated by the colonial power and recovery of an old, Indian form of education. Symbiosis between man and nature: Numerous trees and flowers were planted as part of the project. Parallel to the development of the school, its surroundings also changed.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Rabindranath Tagore
Responsible
Responsible
Further information
Further Information
Images
Bilder
56a860acbad3eb1857282504_600x315

Students during outdoor classes, Visva-Bharati University (name since 1951). Photo/Source: Universit├Ąt

Rabindranath and Santiniketan_ohne Quelle

Rabindranath Tagore with disciples, Shantiniketan, year and original source unknown. Source: Sesquicentennial Blog 

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Modell Übersicht
Brahmacharyasrama / Patha-Bhavana
Reformschule mit ökologischem und antikolonialistischem Schwerpunkt
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#bildung
Founding year:
Jahr der GrĂŒndung:
1901
Time period:
Zeitraum:
seit 1901
Place:
Ort:
Santiniketan, West Bengal
Regions:
Region:
SĂŒdasien
Country:
Land:
India
Location:
Location:
SchulgebÀude / Im Freien
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Kinder
Description
Beschreibung
Die Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Natur steht innerhalb der ökologischen PĂ€dagogik von Rabindranath Tagore im Mittelpunkt und schafft Raum fĂŒr eine alte, indische Form der Bildung, die im Gegensatz zur ansonsten vorherrschenden Bildung der Kolonialmacht steht. Bei der GrĂŒndung 1901 trĂ€gt die Schule den Titel Brahmacharyasrama, nach 1925 Patha-Bhavana, heute Visva-Bharati University. Visva-Bharati bedeutet frei ĂŒbersetzt »Indien, das mit der Welt verbunden ist«. In KlassenrĂ€umen und im Freien lernen SchĂŒler:innen in Bereichen wie Kunst, Tanz und Musik, verschiedene Sprachen und sammeln Wissen in Bereichen wie Gartenarbeit und Bodenkunde. Es gibt wöchentliche literarische und musikalische Abende, zu denen die SchĂŒler*innen ihre kĂŒnstlerischen FĂ€higkeiten untereinander und innerhalb der Gemeinschaft prĂ€sentieren. Über Schulangelegenheiten entscheiden verschiedene Komitees, darunter u.a. ein Umwelt-, ein Gesundheits- und ein Lebensmittelkomitee.
Goals
Ziele
Eine neue Form von ökologischer PĂ€dagogik, bei der die Verbindung zwischen Mensch und Natur im Vordergrund steht. Schaffung einer Alternative zum Bildungssystem, dass durch die Kolonialmacht vorherrscht, und RĂŒckerlangung einer alten, indischen Form der Bildung.
Beneficial Outcomes
Ergebnisse
Schaffung einer Alternative zum Bildungssystem, dass durch die Kolonialmacht vorherrscht, und RĂŒckerlangung einer alten, indischen Form der Bildung. Symbiose zwischen Mensch und Natur: Im Rahmen des Projektes wurde zahlreiche BĂ€ume und Blumen gepflanzt. Parallel zur Entwicklung der Schule verĂ€nderte sich auch ihre Umgebung.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Rabindranath Tagore
Responsible
Verantwortliche
Further informations
Weitere Informationen
Images
Bilder
56a860acbad3eb1857282504_600x315

SchĂŒler beim Unterricht im Freien, Visva-Bharati UniversitĂ€t (Name seit 1951). Foto/Quelle: UniversitĂ€t

Rabindranath and Santiniketan_ohne Quelle

Rabindranath Tagore‎ mit SchĂŒlern, Shantiniketan, Jahr und Originalquelle unbekannt. Quelle: Sesquicentennial Blog 

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320