topics
┬╗Sculptural Democracy┬ź focuses on six central themes of our time. They are topics that Joseph Beuys began to explore in the context of social sculpture: political system, climate, capital, digitalisation, education and living together. The events on which the lab is based revolve around these issues and the challenges that go hand in hand with them. Here the impulses emanating from Beuys will taken up, examined, expanded and updated.
political system
What democracy, what political strategies would we need to effectively address poverty and authoritarianism, environmental degradation and climate change? Around the world, the conviction is spreading that the best opportunities lie in radical participation in political discussions, actions and decisions. Thus, alternative forms of communion and negotiation are being actively sought. Joseph Beuys tested such forms in collective artistic processes of work, deliberation and reflection, which he called Social Sculpture. The topicality, usefulness or even dangerousness of his ideas are explored here.
climate
The climate change resulting from the sustainability crisis determines current action. If the Paris climate targets are not met, not only habitats will be endangered, but extreme changes in living conditions can be expected, affecting all aspects of life. The question is how democracies can function under the pressure of immediate action. How can they solve the problem of time limits and how can they behave in the face of refusals by non-democratic states? The artist Joseph Beuys has been publicly speaking out against environmental destruction since 1970 and, as an activist for the Green Party, has worked to have the ecological question raised in parliament. With his plastic democracy, Beuys has proposed an instrument that counteracts ideologically set rigidities and limits.
capital
Capitalism has been on a triumphant march since the 19th century and is now globalized as an economic form. In the 20th century, its innovative forces created a density of production that brought Western industrial societies, in particular, unprecedented prosperity. The price is the persistence of inequality, neocolonization, overexploitation of nature and destruction of the environment, which led to an existential crisis of planet Earth. Beuys proposed to detach capital, money from its economic context and to understand only the intellectual abilities of human beings as capital and to introduce money as a legal document for work done, in order to end the increase of profit and the accumulation of immoderate individual wealth.
digitalisation
The fact that digitalisation is changing democracy is now part of our everyday knowledge. Equally well known is the ambivalence with which this change is perceived. The networking that enables solidary action on a global level equally promotes mass surveillance and political-economic manipulation, fragmentation and polarization. What Joseph Beuys called for in dealing with the new possibilities of satellite television at the time was an active shaping of both technology and content. In today's discussions, there is a strong echo of this endeavour. How can such a shaping process be conceived?
education
We understand education and shared learning as a system that needs a fundamental reinvention. Instead of tried and tested methods, we need imagination training and strategies on how to move in unknown territories of knowledge. We need to learn how to guide open-ended and purposeful learning processes. We seek knowledge in the local and the everyday, we seek new links between fields of knowledge.
living together
The room, the flat, the house, the street, the neighbourhood, the city are increasing spatial terms for spheres of living together. We are looking for new protocols to charge these spheres differently, to see them anew and to invent new, connected modes of action. Working, living, leisure and holidays are the corresponding categories of action that have long been in the process of dissolution. We are looking for cohesion and commonality in difference. Living together means being, working, thinking, eating and even living together on site. We do not prioritise any of the activities, but set out to find interesting forms of hybridisation.
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Themen
¬ĽPlastische Demokratie¬ę konzentrierte sich auf sechs zentralen Themen unserer Zeit. Es sind Themen, die Joseph Beuys bereits im Rahmen der Sozialen Plastik in den Blick genommen hat: Politisches System, Klima, Kapital, Digitalisierung, Bildung und Zusammenleben. Die Veranstaltungen, die dem Labor zugrunde liegen, kreisten all um diese Felder und die Herausforderungen, die damit einhergehen. Die Impulse, die von Beuys ausgehen, wurden aufgegriffen, gepr√ľft, erweitert und aktualisiert.
Politisches System
Welche Demokratie, welche politischen Strategien br√§uchten wir, um effektiv gegen Armut und Autoritarismus, Umweltzerst√∂rung und Klimawandel vorzugehen? Weltweit verbreitet sich die √úberzeugung, dass die besten Chancen in einer radikalen Teilhabe an politischen Diskussionen, Handlungen und Entscheidungen liegen. So wird aktiv nach alternativen Formen der Vergemeinschaftung und der Verhandlung gesucht. Solche Formen erprobte Joseph Beuys in kollektiven k√ľnstlerischen Arbeits-, Deliberations- und Reflexionsprozessen, die er ¬ĽSoziale Plastik¬ę nannte. Die Aktualit√§t, Brauchbarkeit oder gar Gef√§hrlichkeit seiner Vorstellungen wurden hier erkundet.
Klima
Die aus der Nachhaltigkeitskrise resultierende Klimaverschiebung bestimmt das gegenw√§rtige Handeln. Sollten die Klimaziele von Paris nicht eingehalten werden, sind nicht nur Lebensr√§ume gef√§hrdet, sondern extreme Ver√§nderungen der Lebensbedingungen zu erwarten, die auf alle Bereiche des Lebens einwirken. Die Frage ist, wie unter dem Druck sofortigen Handelns Demokratien funktionieren k√∂nnen. Wie sie das Zeitproblem l√∂sen und sich gegen√ľber Verweigerungshaltungen von nichtdemokratischen Staaten verhalten. Der K√ľnstler Joseph Beuys ist seit 1970 √∂ffentlich gegen die Umweltzerst√∂rung eingetreten und hat sich als Aktivist der Gr√ľnen daf√ľr eingesetzt, dass die √∂kologische Frage im Parlament gestellt wird. Mit seiner plastischen Demokratie hat Beuys ein Instrument vorgeschlagen, das ideologisch gesetzten Erstarrungen und Grenzen entgegenwirkt.
Kapital
Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert ist der Kapitalismus auf dem Siegeszug und heute als Wirtschaftsform globalisiert. Seine innovativen Kr√§fte schufen im 20. Jahrhundert eine Produktionsdichte, die insbesondere die westlichen Industriegesellschaften in einen bis dahin nicht gekannten Wohlstand versetzten. Der Preis ist das Fortbestehen der Ungleichheit, Neokolonialisierung, Raubbau an der Natur und Zerst√∂rung der Umwelt, die in eine existenzielle Krise des Planeten Erde f√ľhrte. Beuys hat vorgeschlagen, das Kapital, das Geld aus seinem √∂konomischen Zusammenhang herauszul√∂sen und allein die geistigen F√§higkeiten des Menschen als Kapital zu verstehen und Geld als Rechtsdokument f√ľr geleistete Arbeit einzuf√ľhren, um die Profitsteigerung und die Anh√§ufung von ma√ülosem individuellen Reichtum zu beenden.
Digitalisierung
Dass Digitalisierung die Demokratie ver√§ndert, geh√∂rt inzwischen zu unserem Alltagswissen. Ebenfalls bekannt ist die Ambivalenz, mit der diese Ver√§nderung wahrgenommen wird. Die Vernetzung, die solidarische Handlungen auf globaler Ebene erm√∂glicht, bef√∂rdert gleicherma√üen Massen√ľberwachung und politisch-√∂konomische Manipulation, Fragmentierung und Polarisierung. Was Joseph Beuys im Umgang mit den seinerzeit neuen M√∂glichkeiten des Satellitenfernsehens einforderte war eine aktive Gestaltung von Technik wie Inhalt. In heutigen Diskussionen ist ein starkes Echo dieses Bestrebens zu verzeichnen. Wie k√∂nnte eine solche Gestaltung aussehen?
Bildung
Wir begreifen Bildung und gemeinsames Lernen als ein System, das einer grundlegenden Neuerfindung bedarf. Statt bew√§hrte Methoden brauchen wir ein Imaginationstraining und Strategien, wie wir uns in unbekannten Territorien des Wissens bewegen. Ergebnisoffene und zielgerichtete Lernprozesse zu lenken, m√ľssen wir erst erlernen. Wir suchen Wissen im Lokalen und im Allt√§glichen, wir suchen neue Verkn√ľpfungen zwischen Wissensfeldern.
Zusammenleben
Der Raum, die Wohnung, das Haus, die Stra√üe, das Viertel, die Stadt sind ma√üst√§blich zunehmende, r√§umliche Begriffe f√ľr Sph√§ren des Zusammenlebens. Wir suchen nach neuen Protokollen um diese Sph√§ren anders aufzuladen, neu zu sehen und neue, verbundene Handlungsweisen zu erfinden. Arbeiten, Wohnen, Freizeit und Urlaub sind die entsprechenden Handlungskategorien, die schon l√§ngst in Aufl√∂sung begriffen sind. Wir suchen nach Zusammenhalt und Gemeinsamkeit in Differenz. Zusammenleben hei√üt Zusammensein, -arbeiten, -denken, -essen und sogar -wohnen vor Ort. Wir priorisieren dabei keine der Aktivit√§ten, sondern machen uns auf die Suche nach interessanten Formen der Hybridisierung.
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320