model overview
LIDL Akademie
Neodadaist Action Project
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#political system
Founding year:
Jahr der Gr├╝ndung:
1968
Time period:
time period:
1968-1970
Place:
Ort:
D├╝sseldorf
Region:
Region:
Western Europe
Country:
Land:
Germany
Location:
Location:
LIDL spaces, D├╝sseldorf Old Town, Public spaces
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Everyone
Description
Description
The LIDL Academy advocated a change in the art market, which should ideally be less elitist and authoritarian. In 1968, J├Ârg Immendorff and Chris Reinecke called for Dada actions to initiate a change in thinking. Between 1968 and 1970, various art and protest actions took place within the framework of the LIDL Academy. After Immendorff had to answer to the Federal Office for the Protection of the Constitution, Reinecke and he rented a room in D├╝sseldorf's old town. Meetings of citizens' initiatives and students (including crochet classes for men) were held in the ┬╗LIDL room┬ź. Students, teachers, researchers and other guests were invited to discuss educational institutions and art education. The actions dissolved the relationship between the work and the viewer. For Immendorff, art should always have a social function. During its existence, Joseph Beuys, Franz Erhard Walter, Nam June Paik, Charlotte Moorman and others were invited. The precursor of the LIDL activities was the action evening ┬╗Freshness┬ź, which Immendorff and Reinecke organised in their private rooms.
Goals
Goals
The aim of the foundation and actions was to free the art institutions from their entrenched hierarchical structures. LIDL was an attempt to bring life, art and politics together not only in theory. Immendorff, who had previously mainly painted, added appeals to his pictures and adopted from Beuys the conviction that art could have a consciousness-expanding effect, recognised in the idea of the collective a way of giving direct expression to his socially critical messages. With his actions, he took on the role of a politically acting prophet.
Outcomes
Outcomes
After the police came to evict them twice and Joseph Beuys himself appeared in a polar bear skin, the director Eduard Trier arranged for the temporary closure of the teaching institution. "Die Zeit" commented on 16 May 1969: "The Lidl Academy, however, can consider its working week to have ended successfully: The various issues were settled by consistently doing away with them. And because everything went so well, J├Ârg Immendorff wants to extend the action. As you could see, there are enough people on both sides who are willing to play along. (Cf. Die Zeit, 1969, see below)
Initiators
Initiator*innen
J├Ârg Immendorff, Chris Reinecke
Responsible
Responsible
Further information
Further Information
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Modell Übersicht
LIDL Akademie
Neodadaistisches Aktionsprojekt
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#politisches system
Founding year:
Jahr der GrĂŒndung:
1968
Time period:
Zeitraum:
1968-1970
Place:
Ort:
DĂŒsseldorf
Regions:
Region:
Westeuropa
Country:
Land:
Germany
Location:
Location:
LIDL-RĂ€ume, DĂŒsseldorfer Altstadt, Öffentliche PlĂ€tze
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Jede*r
Description
Beschreibung
Die LIDL Akademie sprach sich fĂŒr einen Wandel im Kunstmarkt aus, der im Ideal weniger elitĂ€r und autoritĂ€r sein sollte. 1968 riefen hierzu Jörg Immendorff und Chris Reinecke zu Dada-Aktionen auf, die ein Umdenken initialisieren sollten. Zwischen 1968 und 1970 fanden im Rahmen der LIDL Akademie diverse Kunst- und Protestaktionen statt. Nachdem sich Immendorff hierzu vor dem Verfassungsschutz verantworten musste, mieteten sich Reinecke und er in der DĂŒsseldorfer Altstadt ein. Im »LIDL-Raum« wurden Treffen von BĂŒrgerinitiativen und Studierenden (u.a. HĂ€kelkurse fĂŒr MĂ€nner) veranstaltet. SchĂŒler*innen, Lehrer*innen und Forscher*innen und weitere GĂ€ste wurden eingeladen, um ĂŒber Bildungsinstitutionen und KunstpĂ€dagogik zu diskutieren. Die Aktionen lösten die Beziehung zwischen Werk und Betrachter*innen auf. FĂŒr Immendorff sollte Kunst immer eine soziale Funktion haben. WĂ€hrend ihres Bestehens wurden u.a. Joseph Beuys, Franz Erhard Walter, Nam June Paik, Charlotte Moorman eingeladen. VorlĂ€ufer der LIDL AktivitĂ€ten war der Aktionsabend »Frisches«, den Immendorff und Reinecke in ihren PrivatrĂ€umen veranstalteten.
Goals
Ziele
Ziel der GrĂŒndung und Aktionen war die Kunstinstitutionen von ihren eingefahrenen hierarchischen Strukturen zu befreien. LIDL war der Versuch, Leben, Kunst und Politik nicht nur in der Theorie zusammenzubringen. Immendorff, der zuvor vorwiegend malte, seine Bilder mit Appellen versah und von Beuys die Überzeugung ĂŒbernahm, Kunst könne bewusstseinserweiternd wirken, erkannte in der Idee des Kollektivs eine Möglichkeit, seinen sozialkritischen Botschaften einen unmittelbaren Ausdruck zu verleihen. Mit seinen Aktionen ĂŒbernahm er die Rolle des politisch handelnden Propheten.
Beneficial Outcomes
Ergebnisse
Nachdem die Polizei zweimal zur RĂ€umung kam und Joseph Beuys persönlich im EisbĂ€renfell erschien, veranlasste der Direktor Eduard Trier die vorĂŒbergehende Schließung der Lehranstalt. »Die Zeit« kommentierte am 16. Mai 1969: »Die Lidl-Akademie jedoch kann ihre Arbeitswoche als erfolgreich beendet betrachten: Die verschiedenen Themen wurden durch konsequente Abschaffung derselben erledigt. Und weil alles so gut klappte, will Jörg Immendorff die Aktion verlĂ€ngern. Leute, die mitspielen, gibt es, wie man sah, ja auf beiden Seiten genug.« (Vgl. Die Zeit, 1969, s.u.)
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Jörg Immendorff, Chris Reinecke
Responsible
Verantwortliche
Further informations
Weitere Informationen
distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320