model overview
Suffragettes
English women's rights movement to gain the right to vote for women
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#political system
Founding year:
Jahr der Gr├╝ndung:
ab 1897
Time period:
time period:
Early 20th century / ca. 1905-1914
Region:
Region:
Northern Europe
Country:
Land:
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Location:
Location:
various
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Women
Description
Description
The suffragettes (suffrage = right to vote) were a women's movement that fought for women's right to vote in England and other countries at the beginning of the 20th century. Until 1928, women had no right to political participation. Suffrage and the right to hold seats in government or parliament were reserved exclusively for men. In addition, women were not considered capable of conducting business. In reaction to these grievances, Emmeline Pankhurst (1858-1928) founded the Suffragettes. In addition to her daughters, many other women joined them. The movement can be divided into four phases: 1) Protest / strike (1903-1908), 2) Radicalisation (1909-1911), 3) Terrorist violence (1911-1914), 4) At the beginning of the war, the movement declares itself mostly patriotic. In large parts it dissolves or turns to other tasks (1913/14). In the course of their political work, the suffragettes gained support and increased the pressure on the government to meet their demands. Neither persecution, arrest nor harsh punishments tamed the movement. Today, they are at the forefront of efforts for women's equality and other women's rights movements worldwide.
Goals
Goals
Fight for women's right to vote, gender equality and the rejection of male-dominated politics.
Outcomes
Outcomes
The suffragettes and their political commitment stand at the beginning of numerous women's movements and political as well as social struggles for changes towards an equal society. In 1918, women (over 30) were finally allowed to vote in England.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Emmeline Pankhurst
Responsible
Responsible
Further information
Further Information
Images
Bilder
01_processing Suffragettes_flickr

Suffragettes on trial, around 1908. Photo LSE Library. Source: flickr

03_Women's Coronation Procession_1911_flickr

The ┬╗Prison to Citizenship┬ź pageant in the Women's Coronation procession in London, 1911. Photo: LSE Library, Source: flickr

04_Banner zu Womans Coronation Procession_1911_flickr

Elizabeth Wolstenholme Elmy watches the Women's Coronation Procession, banner hanging from the balcony reads ┬╗England's oldest militant Suffragist greets her sisters┬ź, London, 1911. Photo: LSE Library, Source: flickr

02_Suffragetten_USA_1910

American Suffragists, 1910 (f.l.t.r.: Julia Helen Twells, E[lizabeth] Freeman, Maude Roosevelt (Nichte des Pr├Ąsidenten Roosevelt), Professor L[illien] J[ane] Martin of the Stanford University, California, Ada Wright). Photo: LSE Library, Source: flickr

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320

Modell Übersicht
Suffragetten
Englische Frauenrechtsbewegung zur Erlangung des Wahlrechts fĂŒr Frauen
Download This Project PDF
TAG:
#politisches system
Founding year:
Jahr der GrĂŒndung:
ab 1897
Time period:
Zeitraum:
Anfang 20. Jh. / ca. 1905-1914
Regions:
Region:
Nordeuropa
Country:
Land:
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Location:
Location:
ĂŒberall
Target Group:
Zielgruppe:
Frauen
Description
Beschreibung
Die Suffragetten (suffrage = Wahlrecht) waren eine Frauenbewegung, die Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts fĂŒr das Wahlrecht der Frauen in England und anderen LĂ€ndern kĂ€mpfte. Bis 1928 hatten Frauen kein Recht auf politische Teilhabe. Das Wahlrecht sowie das Recht Sitze innerhalb der Regierung oder im Parlament einzunehmen war ausschließlich MĂ€nnern vorbehalten. Zudem galten Frauen nicht als geschĂ€ftsfĂ€hig. In Reaktion auf diese MissstĂ€nde grĂŒndete Emmeline Pankhurst (1858-1928) die Suffragetten. Neben ihren Töchtern schlossen sich in ihnen viele weitere Frauen zusammen. Die Bewegung lĂ€sst sich in vier Phasen gliedern: 1) Protest / Streik (1903-1908), 2) Radikalisierung (1909-1911), 3) Terroristische Gewaltakte (1911-1914), 4) Zu Beginn des Krieges erklĂ€rt sich die Bewegung zumeist patriotisch. In großen Teilen löst sie sich auf oder wendet sich anderen Aufgaben zu (1913/14). Im Laufe ihrer politischen Arbeit gewannen die Suffragetten UnterstĂŒtzung und erhöhten den Druck auf die Regierung ihren Forderungen nachzukommen. Weder Verfolgung, Verhaftung noch harte Strafen zĂ€hmten die Bewegung. Heute stehen sie am Anfang der BemĂŒhungen zur Gleichberechtigung der Frau und anderen Frauenrechtsbewegungen weltweit.
Goals
Ziele
Kampf fĂŒr das Wahlrecht der Frauen, die Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter und die Abkehr von einer sich in MĂ€nnerhand befinden Politik.
Beneficial Outcomes
Ergebnisse
Die Suffragetten und ihre politisches Engagement stehen am Anfang zahlreicher Frauenbewegungen und politischer wie gesellschaftlicher KĂ€mpfe fĂŒr VerĂ€nderungen hin zu einer gleichberechtigten Gesellschaft. 1918 durften Frauen (ĂŒber 30) in England endlich wĂ€hlen.
Initiators
Initiator*innen
Emmeline Pankhurst
Responsible
Verantwortliche
Further informations
Weitere Informationen
Images
Bilder
01_processing Suffragettes_flickr

Prozessierende Suffragetten, um 1908. Foto: LSE Library. Quelle: flickr

03_Women's Coronation Procession_1911_flickr

Festumzug »Prison to Citizenship« (Vom GefĂ€ngnis zur StaatsbĂŒrgerschaft) im Rahmen der »Women’s Coronation Procession« (Krönungsmarsch der Frauen) in London, 1911. Foto: LSE Library. Quelle: flickr

04_Banner zu Womans Coronation Procession_1911_flickr

Elizabeth Wolstenholme Elmy (Mitte) schaut der »Women’s Coronation Procession» (Krönungsmarsch der Frauen) zu, das Banner am Balkon verkĂŒndet: »Englands Ă€lteste militante Suffragette grĂŒĂŸt ihre Schwestern«, London, 1911. Foto: LSE Library. Quelle: flickr

02_Suffragetten_USA_1910

Amerikanische Suffragetten, 1910 (Personen beschriftet, v.l.n.r.: Julia Helen Twells, E[lizabeth] Freeman, Maude Roosevelt (Nichte des PrÀsidenten Roosevelt), Professor L[illien] J[ane] Martin of the Stanford University, California, Ada Wright). Foto: LSE Library. Quelle: flickr

distance-l8 - 1920
distance-l7 - 1602
distance-l6 - 1568
distance-l5 - 1440
distance-l4 - 1325
distance-l3 - 1164
distance-l2 - 1080
distance-l1 - 1024
distance-s1 - 799
distance-s2 - 720
distance-s3 - 640
distance-s4 - 414
distance-s5 - 320